• XFF - Ad free since 2006 \o/

Question I've had for a while

sora2252 · 4394

Offline sora2252

• Sunday Listener
    • View Profile
    • twitter
on: May 17, 2010, 09:18:17 AM
I've been wondering, I know hide was the lead guitar player and that he was awesome at playing guitar as well as writing music. But between hide and Pata, who was the better technical player? I've heard arguments both...

I was also wonder if hide very skilled in music theory or was he simply an "ear player". What I mean by this is, did he know how to read and write music for the guitar or did he play simply with a good ear. I have yet to hear arguments for either. The question for Pata.

Sorry if these are stupid questions, I'm new to X and I've developed a deep connection with this band, and I'm just looking to understand them more as musicians.  :)

Offline Matthias

• Die-hard fan
    • View Profile
Reply #1 on: May 17, 2010, 10:53:30 AM
In the early days they shared lead-duties pretty even, but hide became more and more of the lead guitarist afterwards. I would assume he was able to write music for the guitar, because he managed to get a number of solo/other bands album done.

Offline Wick

• Sunday Listener
    • View Profile
Reply #2 on: May 17, 2010, 12:18:32 PM
Hi,

Good question I've heard a lot of contradictions.

In the "old X" Pata played many solo's aswell so I'm not sure if you can call hide the lead gitarist there.